General Mish Mash

Pull up a chair. Let’s Chat!

Hi there!

It's May

Can you believe it is May already?  It has suddenly gone from hot and humid summer to lovely cool mornings and evenings. Ahhhhhh – at long, long last!!  In case you don’t already know it, I absolutely love winter!!  Before you think I’m nuts though, you’ve got to realise that Brisbane winters are so, so mild. There is briskness in the air in the mornings and evenings and the days are beautiful, sunny and comfortable. No sweating, no make-up dripping off your face and clothes sticking to your body … just lovely and comfortable perfection! 🙂

My daughter turned 19 and my mother turned 73 on May 3.  They share a birthday which is lovely!   I remember the day my daughter was born so clearly.  Mum and Dad came to our house to look after the boys while we went off to the hospital to have our baby.  We didn’t know the sex of the baby until she was born.  She was born at 6:09pm.  What a brilliant birthday gift for my mother – her first granddaughter.  My daughter had friends over and then they all hit the town to celebrate.  In contrast, my Mum and Dad had a lovely four days at Burleigh Heads on the Gold Coast and dinner out at a lovely restaurant down there on the night of May 3rd.

May is a busy month in our family.  What with Mother’s Day, the two birthday’s above and many more family birthday’s this month, including MrMM’s and mine – it makes for a very celebratory month!  In fact on Saturday – myself, my daughter, my mother and two of my sisters are getting together for morning tea at my place, going out to lunch, then afternoon tea at my sister’s house – to celebrate MissM and Mum’s birthdays and Mother’s Day.

MrMM and I had a lovely dinner out at restaurant at Southbank with my childhood BFF and her husband on ANZAC day.  It was an early celebration of our 50th birthday’s.  She has since had her birthday on 29 April.  I’m still a young girl in my 40’s haha as my birthday isn’t until May 31.  Here’s an Instagram snap of the view from our table.

Southbank Brisbane

The friend of a friend of mine has passed away.  I did meet her once, but I didn’t really know her.  She had cancer.  It started as breast cancer and came back as secondaries and spread basically everywhere.  She had been fighting cancer for somewhere like 8-10 years.  When she was well she travelled overseas a lot.  There was lots she wanted to see and do.  She was courageous and brave.  Her funeral was on Saturday (the same day as my daughter and mother’s birthday) which would have been her birthday.  I think she would have turned 53 on that day (I am not certain).  It has made me sad.  This happens too often.  The world over.  Lives taken far too soon.  I hope I live to see the day when a cure is found for cancer.

You may be wondering how I’m going with my withdrawal situation. It’s all good. I’m through the worst now. My head is clear again. I’m not a cranky pants anymore. I’ve been sucking on sugar-free lollies. Um … slight problem there though as they can tend to have a laxative effect if you have too many of them. Anyway – I’m ok. The fact that I had already kicked the ‘smoking habit’ almost 5 years ago has certainly helped enormously!!

How am I going with my photography studies?  Well – I’m up to Module 7.  For this module, I have to choose a photograph by a photographer to replicate.  I also have to choose six photographs that I admire and write my observations (eg were they taken in a studio, natural light, artificial light, light placement, and loads more stuff).   Problem is that I seem to have lost my motivation at the moment.  I think I can attribute this in one part to the ‘withdrawal’ situation and another part to the fact that I am frustrated having to work off a tiny little laptop.  I used to have a large monitor hooked up to the laptop, but it died.  I’m finding viewing and editing photographs impossible on the laptop.  I am never sure if the image I am looking at is the true image because it depends on the tilt of the laptop screen as to what the image looks like!  This is enough to put me off my replication attempts, and has made me realise I need a new computer.  Yep, not just another monitor but a whole new computer.  I would like to bite the bullet and get myself an iMac 27 inch.  I tossed up over whether to get a MacBook Pro or an iMac but have decided on a desktop computer because I do most of my editing at home.  I can still use my current laptop when travelling to upload my photographs on to etc.  So I have told hubby of my plans.  Hopefully, this purchase will result in much improved motivation and I have no doubt it will make an enormous difference to my viewing and editing of photographs!  Watch this space!

Apple iMac 27 inch

You may be wondering what my plans are with my blog, particularly since my 365 Grateful Project is now finalised.  I’ve mentioned here before that I’m planning a new blog, a new name and look with a more precise focus and purpose.  This is still my plan!  However, at the moment I need to limp along as best as I can with MinsMash a little longer until I can get myself re-motivated with my photography studies and a bit more ahead with assignments than I currently am.  If I start delving into my plans for the new blog, I will become very excited and easily led astray and away from my photograph assignments.  So … knowing myself as I do … all in good time! 😉

++++

I could chat for ages, but in case you are one of those people who scan a post and if it looks too long you don’t bother reading it, I will stop here!  Before I go though, I will leave you with an image that reminds us that our happiness is up to us.  It is a reflection of our state of mind.  Happiness is a choice.  Choose happiness I say! 😉

Happiness is a choice

Have a great week everyone!

Min Signature - Dec13

Linking up today with Essentially Jess’s #IBOT

ibotbutton

7 replies »

  1. I am just catching up on blogs hon. I think getting the new computer would be a huge improvement and am jealous of your future mac ; ) deb xx

    Like

  2. First Min, I’m glad to read that you are better re withdrawal situation.
    No, I can’t believe it’s May… I also will turn 35 soon, 22 of May, and this has brought a lot of deep reflection on the meaning of my life.
    I remember that we discussed your new computer when we met. Totally go for it. I’m sure it will help so much in your photography course and your plans for your new blog. It can be only a good thing. Go and spoil yourself, you deserve it.

    Like

  3. We have lots of birthdays in May too, and it’s my mum’s 70th today. I feel bad I’m not around to celebrate with her, but that’s just how life is sometimes isn’t it?
    Glad you’re coping better with the withdrawal. I’ve been thinking of you.

    Like

  4. Huge May for you!!!!! Good luck with your knew blog, it will evolve when it is ready, in the mean time, sit back and enjoy the ride.

    Hello from #teamIBOT

    Like

  5. I revamped my blog a few months back. I was maintaining two of them and it got to be too much. I even went for the big upgrade which means I have one and one help from WordPress. A little box shows up on my Dashboard that says Live Chat. I love it.

    I, too, want to sharpen my photography skills. Enjoy your day and God bless.

    Like