365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Days 364 and 365

And so I come to the end of my 365 Grateful Project.  It may be the end of this project but it is most definately not the end of me living with gratitude.

There are so many things to be grateful for – mostly the simple things in life.  Some are difficult to represent in a photograph or the instant is over before it can be captured in a photograph.

I may have stumbled along the way but that in itself has taught me to be more gentle and forgiving of myself.  Initially I was taking a photo a day and posting it every day to the blog.  This eventually slowed to two or three gratefuls posted twice a week and then a bunch of gratefuls when time allowed.  As a reforming perfectionist, initially this made me feel like a failure, but I eventually came to understand that our activities need to fit with our life and sometimes balance is needed to be found.  I quite like this quote by Anne Lamott – “Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people, It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life.”

By doing this project, it has taught me to slow down and take notice of everything around me.  Not just what is physically there but what is happening around me.  It’s also taught me to be more aware of how I am feeling and what gives me pleasure and makes me happy.

Doing this project has provided me with an awareness of the pleasure photography gives me and has led me to undertake a Diploma in Professional Photography.  I’m still in the process of completely my studies.  Who knows where this might lead me.  My new philosophy for life is to do what makes me happy and believe that it will lead me to where I am meant to be.

And so, let’s wrap up now with my final two gratefuls!

fishing, surf fishing, man fishing

365 Grateful – Day 364:  I’m grateful for some time I recently spent with my brother.  He lives a couple of hours away, so this was a rare opportunity.  We spent two nights with him at his beach house at Sunrise Beach on the Sunshine Coast.  He is a keen fisherman and golfer.  This is a photograph of him surf fishing at Sunrise Beach.  He caught about 20 Dart (not counting all the little ones he threw back).

basket, african woven basket

365 Grateful – Day 365:  I’m grateful for this gorgeous African hand-woven basket, my one and only purchase from our trip away to the Byron Bay Hinterland.  This was purchased at the Byron Bay Markets.  It’s made from Elephant Grass which grows around the Sahel region of West Africa.  The leaves are harvested seasonally by the Fra Fra people of Northern Ghana and then soaked and stretched to produce a fine, supple and extra strong fibre.  By purchasing this basket, I have helped to maintain the time-honoured craft of weaving and the continued trade relationship with these people.  This makes me feel good.  This basket also serves to remind me of the wonderful time MrMM and I had on those few days away and also the huge benefits that can be gained by getting away more often.

There are a couple of quotes I’ll end on that remind us that travelling and experiencing new things is so good for the soul and our growth as individuals.

I took a walk in the woods and came out taller than the trees. ~ Henry David Thoreau

You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you will discover will be wonderful: Yourself. ~ Alan Alda

Travel far enough, you meet yourself. ~David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas

 

Yours with gratitude,

Min Signature - Dec13

4 replies »

  1. Congrats on completing your project beautiful Min! These quotes are so beautiful and I totally agree with the first one now after coming back from camping in the middle of the forest!

    Like