365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Days 355 to 358

Hello!  Long time no blog post!

MrMM has been on two weeks leave so normal day-to-day routine went out the window and actually it was kind of nice!  Along with getting a few things done around the house,we had two nights away at Possum Creek in the Byron Bay Hinterland and then home for a few days and then another two nights away at Sunrise Beach on the Sunshine Coast.

We have reached that stage of life where we can go away without taking the kids with us.  It is strange.  Good.  Sad. Good.  We can do what we want to do without having to listen to any whining.  We don’t have to hear the words “I’m bored”.  We only have the two of us to feed.  It’s a whole new world!  Of course, it is taking me a little bit of getting used to and I checked in at home several times while we were away and shopped and cooked up a storm before we left to ensure the poor things wouldn’t “starve”!!

Time away from home is good for the soul.  So many new things to see and experience and of course I am bursting to share them with you.

The stay at Coco’s Country Cottage was absolutely fabulous!  The cottage is beautifully restored and decorated and very comfortable.  It’s set amongst absolutely gorgeous gardens.  On the property is the main house where Janice and Kevin (the owners) live and just the one cottage where their ‘guests’ stay.  We didn’t get to meet Kevin but Janice was lovely.  She and I had much in common and felt very like-minded.  Kevin is a chef.  They used to own a restaurant in Melbourne before they moved to Possum Creek in the Byron Bay hinterland.  Their two children are now grown and live back in Melbourne so Kevin and Janice live quietly in their beautiful surrounds with just their dog, a cute little rescue pug called ‘Senna’.  The food we ate that they prepared was the best food we have tasted in a long time.  They cook organic and seasonal foods and shop at local markets.  They make their own ‘wheat free’ bread and grow many of their own herbs and vegetables.  They also have an orchard – which they are soon relocating to another position on the property.  We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and WILL definately be returning, and for longer next time!  While you will see photographs in this post, you can also see more on my Instagram.

My experiences over the last two weeks has provided plenty of fodder to finalise my 365 Grateful project, so let’s go!

cottage, possum creek, hinterland, australia, nsw

cottage, possum creek, hinterland, australia, nsw

cottage, possum creek, hinterland, nsw, Australia

cottage, possum creek, hinterland, nsw, australia

365 Grateful – Day 355:  I couldn’t choose just one photograph for this grateful so there are a four!  This grateful is obvious.  I’m very grateful that I discovered CoCo’s Country Cottage and decided to spend two nights there.  The experience was wonderful.  I left a piece of my heart in the Byron Bay Hinterland.  I fell in love with the place.  Yes – it is just THAT beautiful.  It’s so green everywhere – always!  Beautiful outlooks of rolling hills and views out to the ocean and over Byron Bay.  Gorgeous tree-lined roads.  When you sit still and listen, all you hear is the chatter of birds – bliss!  The cottage itself was very warm, welcoming, comfortable and beautifully renovated.  Our hosts provided beautiful food and friendly chats.  We’d be out through the day and return to a serviced cottage and even lamps and candles lit for us so that we didn’t return to a dark cottage.  The cottage was originally a stationmaster’s cottage built in the 1890’s and was located in Brunswick Heads.  It was due for demolition but Kevin and Janice fell in love with it – its character, charm and history and decided to move it on to their property and renovate it.  I loved my short time there and we will definately be going back.

flower, nature, garden

flowers, nature, garden

flowers, flower, nature, garden

flowers, flower, nature, garden

365 Grateful – Day 356:  If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you’d know that nature makes me happy!  So you can imagine how my soul was singing when staying at CoCo’s Country Cottage and being surrounded in beautiful grounds and gardens.  These photographs are just a snapshot of what surrounded us.  Heaven!

sand art, byron bay, beach

365 Grateful – Day 357:  Sand Art!  It was ALL over Byron Bay beach on our first visit to the beach during our stay.  I was awe-struck!  How did they do that?  Wish I had taken more photo’s of it to properly show how extensive it was.  It covered a huge expanse of beach!  There are some clever people out there! 🙂

sunrise, beach, byron bay, australia, nsw

sunrise, beach, byron bay, australia, nsw

sunrise, beach, byron bay, australia, nsw

sunrise, beach, byron bay, australia, nsw

sunrise, beach, byron bay, australia, nsw

sunrise, beach, byron bay, australia, nsw

sunrise, beach, byron bay, australia, nsw

365 Grateful – Day 358:  I’m so grateful that I made the effort to get up super early (a ridiculous hour!) to get down to Byron Bay beach for a sunrise.  Look how beautiful it was!  It also provided me with some great photography practice. 🙂

There will be another grateful post coming very soon!

Min Signature - Dec13

6 replies »

    • Thank you Em! I’m my own worst critic when it comes to my photographs so it really, really helps my confidence to hear some positive feedback on them 🙂 We had a wonderful time. It made me realise that we need to get away MUCH more frequently. I loved it so much! 🙂 xo

      Like

  1. Oooo-I’m so jealous. Love that little cottage. Your pics are great. I would love to visit Australia again. God bless and glad you’re back on board.

    Like

    • Thanks Rebecca! There are many beautiful places in the world but the Byron Bay hinterland was one of those most special places I have ever visited. I loved it there 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow Min! Your photos are so beautiful, amazing! The sand art is fantastic and this sunrise, wow, there’s no words to describe how amazing it is! I’m so happy to hear you had such a great time!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Rita! I had a wonderful time. So much to see and photograph and I didn’t get to it all so I’ll just have to go back 😉 xo

      Like