Recipes

Clean Eating Chicken Salad

I put so much thought and planning towards what I cook for dinners each week.  I make sure we have seafood at least once a week.  I ensure we only have red meat once or twice a week.  I try to plan around two vegetarian meals per week.  I always make sure we eat plenty of fresh vegetables … and so on.

It occurred to me that it was time I put more thought and planning towards what I eat for lunch!  I don’t make lunch for the family.  My kids are old enough to make their own.  My hubby takes some lunch to work.  So all I have to do is plan lunches for me!

I do usually eat quite healthy for lunch but not a terrible lot of forward planning went into it.  So I decided to look around for some new recipes to try out.

I found a recipe for Clean Eating Chicken Salad.  You can see where I originally found it here.

It serves 4 so I have four lunches cooked and ready for this week.  I ate my first serve on Tuesday (but forgot to photograph it for this post).  Wednesday I was out for lunch.  The photograph below is of my second serve eaten for lunch today.  I couldn’t find Romaine lettuce so just used Iceberg.  In hindsight, next time I would add the lettuce on the day I plan to eat it as it gets a little soggy from the Greek yoghurt.   Regardless, the salad in the little pita pocket is absolutely delicious and I’ll definately be making it again! 🙂

Here’s a photo and the recipe.

_DSC0017---edited

Clean Eating Chicken Salad

Servings: 4  |  Calories: 240
(more nutritional information can be found at the recipe source)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cooked skinless, boneless chicken breasts cut into cubes
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup red seedless grapes, quartered
  • 1/2 cup Greek yoghurt, non-fat
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 2 whole-wheat pita pockets, halved
  • 4 romaine lettuce leaves

Directions:

In a large bowl, mix all of the salad ingredients.  Chicken salad can be eaten as is or eat as a pita sandwich.

Easy peasy!

Min Signature - Dec13

4 replies »

  1. That looks very nice I made Jamie Oliver’s green goddess salad and had that for luch yesterday and it was yum too !

    Like

    • Thanks Lisa – yes it was yummy and quick and easy to make. That recipe of Jamie Oliver’s sounds great too. I got one of his recipe books for Christmas – I must have a flick through for some new lunch ideas! xo

      Like

    • It’s lovely with the little pops of sweetness from the grapes Rita! I have another similar recipe that has grapes in it but it also has walnuts as well 🙂 xo

      Like