Health, Wellbeing, Happiness

New Regime – Week 1 Results

It’s been one week since I started tracking my food and attempting daily exercise.  I wrote about my new regime in this blog post.  Today was my weigh in day.   I have good news and bad news.

The good news is that I lost some weight!

The bad news is that what I did lose doesn’t sound like much.  I mean let’s face it –  for the first week of a weight loss regime, we generally expect a loss of at least 1kg don’t we?  Well it wasn’t that much but I do know why.

So what did I lose?

…..

……….

… drum roll … 

……….

…..

Week 1 Weight Loss:       300 grams !

Yay!  Well, it’s better than staying the same or gaining weight AND when you weigh it out in butter you can see that it actually is quite a substantial amount of weight!

Here is an example of what 300 grams looks like in butter.

300 grams of butter

300 grams of butter

300 grams of butter

I’d rather that 300g of butter be on that plate than be fat on my body!  300g is more than you thought when you look at it this way isn’t it?!

Exercise this week has included swimming laps and aqua aerobics in my pool and 30 minutes of fast walking on the treadmill.  I even googled some aqua aerobic exercise ideas and increased the time spent in the pool from 15 to 30 minutes.

I have not partaken in any emotional eating during the week, but I sure have been aware of occasions when I wanted to!!

Now, as to why I believe my weight loss is not more than 300g this week?  Well, this is where any males might like to click away as we’re about to talk WOMEN’S STUFF!!

+

++

+++

++

+

Ok girls, we all know that we have to live with this thing called menstrual cycles.  Well mine are kind of the worst ones you could ever imagine.  I don’t think I have ever mentioned it on this blog before, but I suffer with PMDD (Pre Menstrual Dysphoric Disorder).  I won’t go into all the details of what PMDD is right now (you can google it) but basically it is a far worse version of PMS.   Anyway, this week I am ovulating.  This is when PMDD kicks in for me.  I bloat, retain fluid, have pain in my ovaries, get headaches and much more.

For me, there is only ever a maximum of 2 weeks (generally more like 10 days) during the month that I feel normal (not bloated and gross).  It is during these 2 weeks that my weigh-in’s will most likely more accurately reflect how much weight I have lost.   So maybe the week after next will be a massively good weigh-in, so long as I continue doing the right thing!  I must not get discouraged!

In the meantime, I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing! 😉

Min Signature - Dec13

4 replies »

  1. Congratulations on your loss and I am sorry you suffer that horrible disease Min I had a hysterectomy when I was 37 for a horrid syndrome and it is the best thing I ever did!

    Like

    • Thanks Lisa. I’ve often wondered whether I should have a hysterectomy to put an end to all that I suffer with PMDD … but then I’m scared of menopause! What would be worse? xo

      Like