Recipes

Mini Quiches

I mentioned in yesterday’s post that I was going to be making Mini Quiches today and that I would post the recipe at some point.  This morning I thought – why not take the bull by the horns, snap some photographs as I cooked them today and get the recipe on the blog sooner rather than later!  So I did!

spinach, egg, cream, mustard, onion

I made twice the recipe – two different variations – first lot were spinach – second lot had diced ham instead of spinach.

MINI QUICHES

Ingredients

3 Sheets Ready Rolled Puff Pastry
125g Tasty Cheese Cubed
2 Spinach Leaves (this refers to English Spinach – I used a large handful of baby spinach on this occasion – makes no difference)
1/2 small onion peeled and halved
1 egg
3 tablespoons cream
1 tablespoon parsley sprigs firmly packed
1 tablespoon french mustard
salt and pepper

Variations

  1. Substitute cheese, spinach and parsley with 170g can crab meat drained + 125g sliced ham
  2. Substitute spinach with 125g sliced ham or bacon (blend in after mixing)  (**This is what I did for one batch**)

Makes 18 – 24  (For me one recipe makes 27)

What to Do

Cut pastry 6cm rounds with egg ring or pastry cutter (I use an egg ring and get 9 per pastry sheet)

Puff Pastry

Press into shallow patty pans.  (NOTE:  patty pans – not muffin pans)

patty pans

Food process … cheese, spinach, onion, egg, cream, parsley, mustard, salt and pepper.

Food processor

When making the recipe that includes ham (in my case – diced ham) – mix the ham in after you have food processed the other ingredients.

Mixing in Ham

Spoon 1 tablespoon of mixture into each patty pan.  (Watch you don’t overfill because when it cooks it will overflow the case.  Also you need to watch that you have enough mixture for all cases.)

mini quiches

Bake in 210 degree oven for 20 minutes or until puffed and golden.  (**I have a fan forced oven and cook for 15 minutes only**)

The final product

Mini Quiches

Mini Quiches

This is not the first time my Mini Quiches have featured on my blog.  Here’s a photo that was used for Day 109 of my 365 Grateful Project!

Mini Quiches

These are great for nibblies at a party.  Mine are now in a large lasagne dish with alfoil over them.  They will be reheated tonight for our family pre-Christmas get together.

If you do decide to try these one day.  Enjoy!

Min Signature - Dec13

Linking up today with Essentially Jess’s #IBOT

ibotbutton

14 replies »

  1. Mini quiches are definitely my go to recipe for whenever I have to provide food for a party or work lunch! I love the recipe I got when I did the 12wbt, so quick and easy! They have no pastry though…yours look really yummy!

    Like

    • I did 12wbt during 2011 (3 rounds) but can’t remember a mini quiche recipe. It must have been added after I finished. This recipe is definately not a low fat recipe! lol However, when you consider that the recipe makes 27 mini quiches and you may only have 2 or 3 – it’s not too calorie laden 😉 xo

      Like

    • There were soooo yummy Ann and I’m sorry to say they all went like hot cakes. None left! Follow my recipe and you can have as many batches as you like all to your self 😉 x

      Like

    • LOL – that’s so you! You should make them one day. You’ll surprise yourself. They’re so easy – yet when serving to people – they think they look complicated and marvel at your cooking expertise! 😉 xo

      Like