Health, Wellbeing, Happiness

The Plan of Action

Yesterday on the blog I revealed that I have Osteoarthritis (see here) – mainly in my fingers and wrists. Since I published that post, I’ve been doing a bit of on-line research with regards to natural supplements that might be best to help treat the condition.

This post might be of little interest and/or boring to some, but I decided to share what I’ve learnt anyway because it might be useful to someone else out there with aches and pains and also because I have discovered that Omega-3’s are pretty vital to our overall health and so understanding this is pretty much important knowledge for everyone!

I must admit that on-line research can be a little dangerous, or at least misleading, because a lot of it is ‘marketing’ and you can’t be sure of what to believe.  Both the pharmacist and the naturopath I spoke to today did not appear to be sold on the calamari oil (refer to my mention of it below).  Doesn’t mean it isn’t good but I decided to listen to the advice of the Naturopath I spoke to.

I posted the following on my Facebook page this morning:

I’ve been doing some research on Fish Oil/Omega 3 for osteoarthritis and discovered that there is now Calamari Oil on the market. I’ve discovered that Calamari has been found to be much higher in Omega-3 DHA than fish and krill oil. There are several types of omega-3 fatty acids (EPA, DHA, ALA) and DHA is showing to be the most important for memory, brain function and cognitive behaviour. Krill still provides benefits for arthritis and joint health due to it’s unique antioxidant properties. Very interesting – thought I’d share!

I had pretty much decided that I was going to get three products:  (1) Panadol Osteo; (2) Nature’s Way Super Krill Oil + Calamari; (3) Nature’s Way Joint Restore Glucosamine + Chondroitin.

This is what I ended up coming home with.

Osteoarthritis treatments

On arrival at the local pharmacy I managed to get the Panadol Osteo and was talked into getting Nature’s Way Joint Restore Triple Action Glucosamine + Chondroitin + MSM (Relieve, Repair, Restore).  They did not have Nature’s Way Super Krill Oil + Calamari in stock.

So, I wandered over to Flannery’s!  I spoke to a Naturopath there.  She advised that Calamari oil is the latest thing and not necessarily the best thing.  First it was Fish Oil, then it was Krill Oil and now Calamari Oil is the latest craze.

One thing that is very important to understand about Omega 3 is that it is made up of fatty acids.  Omega-3 fatty acids refer to a group of three fats called ALA, EPA, and DHA.  Here is some basic information on Omega-3 and it’s three fatty acids.

Now I am not an expert or a Naturopath myself, but if you are, and happen to read this and see that something I have said is incorrect – please let me know!

This following two paragraphs are extracts from Nordic Naturals FAQ page: 

Essential fatty acids (EFAs) are polyunsaturated fats that are necessary for optimal health, but that our bodies cannot produce. Therefore, they must be consumed through food or supplements. There are two families of EFAs: omega-3 and omega-6, which need to be consumed in a balanced ratio. The body must receive a balanced supply of omega-3 and omega-6 EFAs to ensure proper eicosanoids production. Eicosanoids are hormone-like compounds that affect virtually every system in the body—they help maintain proper blood pressure and cholesterol levels, and promote fluid nerve transmission, among other functions. The problem is that, in our modern industrialized food system, omega-3s have become largely absent from the food chain while omega-6s have become overabundant. Even the healthiest diets contain too many omega-6s and not enough omega-3s. Decades of scientific evidence indicates that this EFA imbalance can contribute to chronic inflammation and a variety of health issues. The most beneficial omega-3s that we’re missing are eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). Purified fish oil is the best direct source of EPA and DHA.

Possible signs of Omega-3 deficiency include the following:

  • Fatigue
  • Poor memory
  • Immune weakness
  • Dry skin, eczema, or hair loss
  • Heart problems
  • Reproductive problems (men and women)
  • Mood swings or depression
  • Poor circulation

++++

ALA (Alpha-linolenic acid) fatty acid is found in plant oils (such as canola oil, soybean oil, in linseeds (flaxseeds) and walnuts).

EPA (Eicosapentaenoic acid) fatty acid and DHA (Docosahexaenoic acid) are found in marine oils (primarily in oily fish, such as Atlantic and Australian salmon, blue-eye trevalla, blue mackerel, gemfish, canned sardines, canned salmon and some varieties of canned tuna. Other fish such as barramundi, bream or flathead, and seafood such as arrow squid, scallops and mussels, are also good sources of omega-3) with tuna oil containing the highest natural proportion of DHA.

EPA and DHA fatty acid make up two of the most important acids required by the body.  DHA is the most complex form of Omega-3 and is difficult to include in our diet as only few foods contain a significant amount.  Omega-3 DHA is an essential component of breast milk, and newborn babies utilise Omega-3 DHA for brain, nerve and eye tissue development.

++++

Ultimate Omega-3

So, when I was at Flannery’s the Naturopath recommended Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega Liquid.  I much prefer the liquid form as I already have enough tablets to take.  I only need to take 1 teaspoon per day to get the required amount of Omega-3 that I need for the day, and it tastes fine – like a lemon flavoured oil.  I’m quite excited about this product because it will not only benefit my osteoarthritis but also my heart, eyes, brain & mood, cholesterol, hair, skin, nails, fitness, digestive health, immunity and general wellbeing!

Glucosamine + Chondroitin + MSM

So if I’m taking Omega-3 then why do I need the Nature’s Way Glucosamine + Chondroitin + MSM?  Well as I said, I’m no expert BUT this product is specific to osteoarthritis/joint mobility/joint inflammation/joint pain AND Shannon from The Biggest Loser uses it so it must be good – yes?!

Panadol Osteo

And let’s not forget my Panadol Osteo.  Excuse the ripped end but as soon as I got home I ripped open that sucker and swallowed my first two tablets in eagerness for some pain relief! 🙂  Once the first two products have a chance to work, I may be able to cease this one.  Finger crossed!

So there you go.  We’ll see how I go.  I may soon be doing things I haven’t been able to do for ages!

Ciao for now,

MinPostSignature

6 replies »

  1. I take Panadol Esteo and you can ask for a script from the DR it is cheaper that way I hope these help you Min xo

    Like

  2. I have been taking Emu Spirit Emu Oil Omega 3.6.9. for my arthritic knee, muscle spasms, and aching crooked finger for years and I have no pain. However, Need an operation and have ceased taking them (thins the blood) and the aches have come back.
    Hope this info has helped. CATSNAP22

    Like

    • Thank you – every bit of information is helplful! I hadn’t heard of Emu Spirit Emul Oil Omega 3.6.9. I might do a little google to learn more about it. Good luck with your operation. I hope it all goes well! xo

      Like

  3. Hello Min, I don’t know much about Osteoarthritis. I just wanted to stop by to wish you that you will find the right treatment for you for this condition and all the best. Sending your way virtual positive thoughts.

    Like

    • Thanks Rita. It’s not so bad – just some aching and weakness in joints. I’m grateful I haven’t got something far worse! The panadol osteo is giving me some pain relief which is nice 🙂 xo

      Like