General Mish Mash

Mindfulness Meditation and Yoga

Just thought I’d pop in and fill you in on my new ventures about to start soon.

Woman Meditating on Beach --- Image by © Hannah Mentz/Corbis

[source]

Late tomorrow afternoon I begin a 7 week program in Mindfulness Meditation.  I’m really looking forward to it.   This combines two of my interests.  I’ve spoken before about the benefits of Mindfulness and my interest in learning to meditate.  Here is a little bit about what I will be doing.

Mindfulness is the gentle effort to be completely in touch with and aware of the present moment as well as taking a non-evaluative and non-judgemental approach to your inner experience.  During this 7 week program you will learn to cultivate mindfulness and alter your habitual responses by taking pause and choosing how to act in your everyday life.  While primarily building skills and attitudes of mindfulness during the course you will meet others and form connections.

Yoga Class

[source]

Next week I begin a 6 week Yoga course for beginners.   In my previous life (working full-time in the corporate world), I used to go one evening per week to Pilates, but having read more about Yoga, I feel that its purpose and origins are more in line with the new life I am building for myself and I want to try it and learn more about it.  Here is a little bit about the course I will be doing.

Each class holds a particular focus over a rolling six-week program. Throughout the durations of the course, the students will be introduced to all the main principles and techniques you’ll need to ensure a safe, healthy and holistic yoga practice. You will explore the practice & benefits of the various type of yoga asanas (standing poses, balancing poses, back bends, seated poses, forward bends and twists), as well as learning essential breathing practices (pranayama), deep relaxation, meditation and some basic yoga philosophy. Discover ways to modify your practice to suit your individual requirements, whilst cultivating a strong foundation aimed at setting you up for success as you move forward in your yoga practice.

As you can see, in addition to the obvious physical advantages of Yoga, I am endeavouring to create a more peaceful, calm and balanced life for myself.  For me, it begins by working on my mind.  I have a very over-active mind that is always thinking, planning and worrying about things.  I want to gain control over it and learn to quieten it.  I want to improve my ability to savor the pleasures in life as they occur, my ability to be fully engaged in activities, and create a greater capacity to deal with any adverse events that may arise.

I’ve read quite a few books on mindfulness and meditation and have learned a lot but these classes will take me quite a few steps closer to my goals.

Have you ever done Mindfulness Meditation?  Are you a seasoned Yoga practitioner?  I’d love to hear any hints or tips or experiences you have to share!

Have a great week everyone. 🙂

MinPostSignature

11 replies »

  1. I haven’t done yoga only reason I haven’t is that I can’t get on the floor ,song story but I have a really bad knee ,lots of operations and a total knee replacement that was not a great success,but I have done tai chi and I do practice meditation,you will love it Min and so will your mind and body,let us know how you go.

    Like

    • Ouchy Lisa – not good to hear about your knee operations and especially that they were not a great success! I hope you are not living with pain? I went to my first mindfulness meditation group last night and really enjoyed it. I have homework! 😉

      Like

  2. The best book about meditation I have ever read is Osho “The Orange Book”. It is very small and thin, but fool of amazing ideas. When I used to work in corporate world, I used to go for yoga lessons, now not :).

    Like

  3. Good for you! I used to do yoga class held by my old workplace as part of their employee wellness program and am missing it.

    I keep hearing great things about Mindfulness from the psychology clinic I do some contract work for …

    Like

    • Yoga will start next week. I went to my first mindfulness meditation class last night – lots of introductory stuff but included a couple of introductory exercises + homework. It’s gonna be great! 🙂 x

      Like

  4. This is great Min! I love Yoga and I did some for three years in my other life back in Canada. I’d love to get back into it.

    Like

    • You should get back into Rita – especially if you enjoyed it. It’s great for you – for so many reasons. I’m looking forward to starting next week 🙂 x

      Like