Recipes

Bacon, Thyme & Parsnip Soup

I was over at Mum and Dad’s for lunch recently for my sister’s birthday.  Mum served up a three course meal.  Everything was delicious!  First course was Bacon, Thyme and Parsnip Soup and it was so absolutely divine that I asked for the recipe.

Now I’m not one that usually buys or eats parsnips so I was surprised that I loved the soup so much!  I loved it so much that it made this week’s family menu.

I must say I was shocked by the price of parsnips!  They were $2 each!  I was imagining they would be much the same price as sweet potatoes and potatoes!  This recipe serves 4.  As I have a family of 5 (3 of which are male), I needed to double the recipe.  That meant I needed 12 parsnips.  12 x $2 = $24   You can see why I was shocked … BUT … I still went ahead because trust me, this soup is worth it.

Here we go with the recipe!

+++

Peeling Parsnips

BACON, THYME AND PARSNIP SOUP

Preparation Time:  20-30 minutes
Cooking Time:  25 minutes
Serves:  4

Ingredients:

  • 3 rindless bacon rashers, finely chopped
  • 1 brown onion, coarsely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme leaves
  • 1L (4 cups) salt-reduced vegetable stock
  • 250ml (1 cup) water
  • 6 (about 1kg) parsnips, peeled, cut into 2cm pieces
  • 80ml (1/2 cup) thickened cream
  • Fresh thyme leaves, to serve
  • 8 x 1.5cm-thick slices sourdough baguette (French breadstick), toasted

Method:

  • Heat a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the bacon, onion, garlic and thyme and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes or until the onion is soft.Cooking Bacon and Onion
  • Add the stock and water to the pan.  Increase heat to high and bring to the boil.Add the stock and water
  • Reduce heat to medium-high.  Add the parsnip and simmer, partially covered, for 15 minutes or until parsnip is tender.  Set aside for 10 minutes.Add the Parsnips
  • Place half in a blender and blend until smooth.  Transfer to a saucepan.  Repeat with the remaining mixture.  (NOTE:  I just blend with a hand-held blender in the pot it was cooked in – much easier!).  Place over low heat and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes.Blend Soup
  • Ladle soup among serving bowls and drizzle cream (NOTE: you could use lite sour cream or natural yoghurt instead).  Sprinkle with extra thyme and season with pepper.Parsnip Soup
    Parsnip Soup
  • Serve with the toasted bread.
    (I didn’t have any on hand at the time of photographing.  Hubby is picking up the bread on the way home from work.)

To freeze:

After blending, bring the soup to room temperature.  Transfer to a container.  Label, date and freeze for up to three months.  Thaw overnight.  Reheat in a saucepan.

+++

If you decide to give this soup a try, let me know what you thought of it!

MinPostSignature

Linking up with With Some Grace‘s #FYBF

fybf button

14 replies »

  1. It looks lovely,but having to spend that much on parsnips it would want to be!!

    Like

    • It was YUM – definately worth the cost of the parsnips. All males in the house had a second serve last night and we have some leftover for lunch today 🙂 xo

      Like

    • I had never cooked with parsnips or even tasted parsnips ever before Rita but this soup is absolutely scrumptous. I hope you try it – you’ll see what I mean then! 😉 x

      Like

  2. Hello Min! Just stopping by to let you know that I have cooked your recipe last week. I loved it! It was absolutely delicious! Hubby loved it too. Thanks so much for sharing. I have printed it out and put it in my recipe book so I won’t forget about it and could cook it again.

    Like