Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday: My Twin Boys

twin boys

I love this photograph of my boys holding hands at the beach when they were little.  Such sweet innocents they were then.  The world was one big wonder!  This was taken at a holiday at Caloundra.  I think it was taken around January 1996.

They loved the beach back then.  They loved swimming with us in the ocean, building sand castles, digging holes, riding on their boogie boards.  They loved finding shells and looking in rock pools discovering all kinds of interesting sea life.

My boys will be 21 in November 2013.  It is so hard to believe how quickly time has flown.   We’ve had a few beach holidays over recent years.  In January 2012 we went to Bargara (near Bundaberg) and earlier this year we went to Caloundra.  The boys no longer get the same thrill from beach holidays.  It’s not so cool to be seen with Mum and Dad.  There is no more building sand castles and playing in the ocean with their parents.  No more digging holes and searching for shells.  It’s to be expected.  This is normal as we grow older.  It’s so sad though that as adults the simple things no longer give us the same pleasure they did as when we were kids.

It gave me such joy then, when on a late afternoon walk along a beach at Caloundra in February this year, I spotted Twin1 crouched down at some rock pools exploring, looking for sea life, just like when he was little.  It warmed the cockles of this mama’s heart to know that he can still see the wonders in this world!

Twin1 - Feb 2013

MinPostSignature

Linking up with The Camera Chronicles – Flashback Friday

and With Some Grace’s – Flog Yo Blog Friday

fybf

18 replies »

  1. What a beautiful post. It is sad that we lose that wonder and awe as we grow up. Sometimes we need to be reminded to look 🙂 You must be astounded at how the years have flown…my boys are only 3, 6 and 7 but I already look back on photos of the older two when they were younger and marvel at how small and innocent they were…

    Like

    • Thanks Cathy – the years have flown by in the blink of an eye! I know that I lost the ability to stop and notice the wonders in the world but not anymore. My 365 Grateful project has been the catalyst for making me slow down and take notice. The world is so much more beautiful when you do this 🙂

      Like

  2. One of the joys of parenting – reflecting on time and being able to see the little glimpses of their little selves in their big grown up selves. (I also love a forage in rock pools. Enjoyed your pics.)

    Like

    • Hi Rachel – it is lovely to catch glimpses of their little selves in the big grown up selves. I love a forage in a rock pool too! You find all kinds of cool things 😉

      Like

  3. That’s lovely that you dig out the photos and remind yourself of the memories. I also get saddened that we lose that sense of wonder – mind you, I’m discovering all sorts of science things that I never knew and am finding that’s igniting it again. We live in an amazing planet.

    Like

    • HI Lydia – it’s fun to dig out old photo’s and see what memories come as a result. It is terribly sad that as we become adults our lives become full of being busy, having responsibilities, looking after others etc … and we lose the sense of wonder about the world. I’m glad to hear that you are finding it again through science. I am finding it again through my grateful project and photography! 🙂

      Like

  4. Beautiful post Min. As much as I marvel at the men my sons are becoming, I still miss their smaller selves sometimes. I am desperately trying to have my youngest grow up in slow motion. It doesn’t seem to be working yet… he will be turning five soon.

    Like

    • Thanks Ana – I agree – it’s interesting and amazing to watch my sons grow and become adults but I do miss their little selves. I hope your youngest doesn’t grow up too quickly. Savour every moment 😉 xo

      Like

  5. I still love poking around rock pools at the beach! My 19 insists he hates sand and beaches so won’t even go anymore 😦

    Like

    • So do I Janet!! Your Mr19 isn’t much different to my boys in that regard. My boys aren’t interested in visiting the beach during the day. They did come for the afternoon walks along the beach though – which I am grateful for. We took the dogs for a walk every afternoon and it was really lovely to see the boys enjoy it. I worry that they spend too much time indoors on their computers so it was nice to see them out in the fresh air, walking and enjoying themselves 🙂

      Like

  6. This reminds me of our own family holidays when our son was young. Your sons will never forget how to enjoy the beach and one day they’ll teach their own boys.

    Like

    • That is so lovely Val that the photograph reminds you of your own family holidays. It is such a nice image you have given me … of my boys as dads playing with their own kids at the beach! 🙂

      Like

    • One day they will be Em! lol Yep – soak up that youth while you can. There are benefits when they get older but you will miss the younger them when they are older. Min xo

      Like

  7. Your twins are just adorable. You make me want to visit Australia again. We went to Wollongong (hubby was working) and I love the rock formations along the beach and the wonderful little tide pools. I have such fond memories of your beautiful country. It’s kind of funny because I was feeling very nostaligic myself yesterday.
    Have a wonderful week-end. In America we are celebrating a Holiday week-end called Memorial Day. Anyway, have a good one.

    Like

    • Thanks Rebecca! Australia sure is a beautiful country … and I haven’t even seen it all yet. Happy Memorial Day! Hope you have a wonderful weekend. Min xo

      Like

  8. Oh, Min! This gave me goosebumps! My twins are 3 now and I can’t imagine them being 21 one day. But when they are, I hope they keep their sense of awe and wonder for nature too xxx

    Like