365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Days 206 to 208

365 Grateful - Day 206

365 Grateful – Day 206:  I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to see a bat colony up close but even more grateful that there isn’t one near where I live!

MrMM and I stopped in at Boonah for afternoon tea on the day we went on a day trip for A Day in the Country.  This photograph is of a bat colony at the park we were at in Boonah.   They were noisy!!

I’ve been reflecting on bat colonies since seeing this one.  This one is not near any residential homes, but there are many colonies that are.   Flying foxes (commonly referred to as fruit bats or bats) are a protected species and it is an offence to kill or injure them or to interfere with their roosts. Flying-foxes are social animals that usually live in large colonies or camps. Their roosts can be as small as a dozen animals but usually number in the thousands.  Camps are often semi-permanent, sometimes dispersing seasonally or when food is no longer available nearby or an area is overtaken by the impacts of encroaching development.

If you look up close at a Flying fox – they are actually quite cute!  Unfortunately though Flying-foxes can carry a variety of diseases!

Hendra Virus: Queensland Health advises that there is no evidence that the virus can be passed directly from flying-foxes to humans, from the environment to humans or that it is airborne. Hendra infection in humans has only ever been recorded from close prolonged exposure to secretions (saliva, nasal discharge) from a sick horse infected with Hendra Virus.

Lyssavirus:   Australian Bat Lyssavirus (ABL) can only be caught from untreated bites or scratches from infected bats. They usually avoid contact with people, more commonly scratches or bites occur if someone handles an animal. If you find a sick, injured or orphaned animal, do not touch it.

365 Grateful - Day 207

365 Grateful – Day 207:  I’m grateful to be studying and preparing for my Module Two Assignment, and more than ever … I’m grateful to be learning!!

365 Grateful - Day 208

365 Grateful – Day 208:  I’m grateful for Garnier’s mix-up whereby I have been sent a second tube of Garnier BB Cream Oil-Free!

In October 2012 I was one of the winners of a competition run by Garnier.  I won a full-sized tube of Garnier BB Cream Oil-Free (SPF 15)!  I have been using it and love it!  I mostly use it as a day time foundation, still preferring my usual foundation for evenings or important occasions.  Another tube arrived today, with the same congratulations letter!  Bit of a mix up at Garnier?  Never mind … I’m happy!! 🙂

MinPostSignature

