Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday: 1976

1976 - Min and sister

Today I’m flashing back to 1976.

In February 1976 the fifth and last child in our family was born.  My sister Jacqueline (known to us as Jackie).  She wasn’t planned, but was a lovely surprise!  If she had been a boy, she was going to be called Matthew.  Mum and Dad consulted us in choosing her name.  We all agreed on Jacqueline for a girl and Matthew for a boy.

In this photo I am holding baby Jackie.  I would be around 12 years of age and Jackie would be somewhere under 12 months of age (not sure of her exact age  in this photo).  I’m the eldest child.  At the time of Jackie’s birth, the youngest had just started school – so would have been around 5 years of age.

We are on holidays visiting our Nanny (Dad’s mum) in Warwick.  Looking at this photo brings back lots of memories.  We used to love visiting Nanny.  She had a Weeping Willow tree in her backyard that we called ‘the swinging tree’.  We would grab hold of the weeping branches and swing.  Isn’t it sad that as we get older such simple things fail to give the same pleasure they did when we were children.  I also remember that she had an outdoor toilet which made needing to go to the loo at night a gloriously scary and frightening experience.  I remember once discovering a frog in the bowl of the toilet – after I had sat on it!  There would be lots of squeals of terror and delight during night-time visits to the loo.  Kids are fascinated and drawn to scary things! Haha!

I would have been extremely proud and delighted that my hair was long enough to get into those piggy tails.  I also see clips in my hair.  Oh yes … you see I have naturally curly hair and when I was young I hated my curls so used clips and bobby pins to flatten them down (much to mother’s distress!).  I wanted long, gloriously straight hair like Marcia from ‘The Brady Bunch’. 😉

Thinking back, Mum was lucky to have older kids to help with Jackie.  I remember often being sent to ‘rock the cot’ when she was crying and needed settling down for sleep.  I never had older kids when I had my children.  My twin boys were just over 2 years of age when I had MissM.

I was very fortunate to have a wonderful childhood.  I loved visiting both my grandmothers.  I never met either of my grandfathers as both had passed away before I was born.  I have many wonderful memories of extended family picnics, parties and get togethers.  We had so many fun times with our cousins.  This photo brings back many lovely memories but mainly how exciting it was to get a new little sister.  You appreciate it so much more when you are that bit older! 🙂

MinPostSignature

Linking up today with The Camera Chronicles – Flashback Friday

and Twinkle in the Eye’s – Flash Blog Friday

10 replies »

  1. That was a really beautiful post. Amazing how one photograph can bring back such a rush of memories. Someone else posted a photo from 1976 as well today 🙂 Don’t think I would have handled that outddor toilet quite as well as you! Happy Friday to you and your little sister 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Cathy! I saw that there was another post from 1976. I haven’t had time yet to read the other posts but hoping to get to them tonight. Happy Friday to you too! Min xo

      Like

  2. SNAP! I have a very similar photo of me holding my baby brother on the first day of school in 1977. I was 10; he was about 1.

    Like

  3. That is a lovely photo of you and your baby sister. Also that weeping willow tree sounds beautiful. Reminds me of a tree at one of my Aunty’s houses. My brother, cousin and I used to pretend it was The Magic Faraway Tree.
    Sounds like you have a lovely extended family. x

    Like

  4. Such a sweet photo. I remember swinging from the giant Weeping Willows on my Uncles property, such wonderful times.
    Thank you for sharing your memories xx

    Like