365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Day 183

365 Grateful - Day 183

I’m grateful for the end of my book drought with the arrival at the library of a long ago ordered book!

I’ve said before on my blog that I love reading!  I normally ALWAYS have a book on the go and usually a pile waiting.  Sadly though, I have been without a book for a few weeks now and totally lost without one.  I had ordered two books from the library but was on a wait list.  Finally, one arrived – The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton.  I have read her other books The Shifting Fog and The Forgotten Garden and really enjoy her writing.  There is another book – The Distant Hours that I have not yet read.

Kate Morton grew up in the mountains of south-east Queensland and lives now with her husband and young sons in Brisbane.  She lives in my city!  You can learn more about her at her website.

Here’s the excerpt from the inside cover of The Secret Keeper:

“1961:  On a sweltering summer’s day, while her family picnics by the stream on their Suffolk farm, sixteen-year-old Laurel hides out in her childhood tree house dreaming of a boy called Billy, a move to London, and the bright future she can’t wait to seize.  But before the idyllic afternoon is over, Laurel will have witnessed a shocking crime that changes everything.

2011:  Now a much-loved actress, Laurel finds herself overwhelmed by shades of the past.  Haunted by memories, and the mystery of what she saw that day, she returns to her family home and begins to piece together a secret history.  A tale of three strangers from vastly different worlds – Dorothy, Vivien and Jimmy – who are brought together by chance in wartime London and whose lives become fiercely and fatefully entwined.

Shifting between the 1930’s, the 1960’s and the present, The Secret Keeper is a spellbinding story of mysteries and secrets, theatre and thievery, murder and enduring love.”

It’s chilly and raining here – can’t wait till later when I can curl up and get lost in the story of The Secret Keeper!

MinPostSignature

4 replies »

  1. I’ve read The Forgotten Garden and loved it – I met Kate Morton at a literary luncheon last year and bought it then – full story is on my blog redlandcityliving.com/literary-luncheon-with-kate-morton/. Haven’t yet got to her other books but I will!

    Like

    • The Forgotton Garden was a fabulous book wasn’t it! Oh that would have been wonderful to meet Kate Morton. I’ll have to pop over and read your post. You should definately read her other books! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve read all of Kate Morton’s books. I went to an event a few years ago (when I was doing a lot of writing courses and regularly attending book launches etc) and decided I hated her cos she was absolutely gorgeous and had a hubby, family and was a successful writer. (I am of course being facetious!) But still….

    Like

    • LOL Deb! I know – there is a photo of her inside the cover of the book. She is young and gorgeous! She is doing so well for one so young! She would be interesting to talk to!

      Like