Recipes

Salmon and Vegetable Slice

Salmon & Veg Slice - LARGE

MinsMash is about all things that contribute to a happy and healthy lifestyle…..so why not share a recipe or two! ๐Ÿ™‚

I am a fan of Annette Sym and her Symply Too Good To Be True (STGTBT) recipes.ย  This one is from her STGTBT Book 6.ย  The photograph above is my own creation of the recipe.ย  We had it last night with a side serve of salad and it was delicious!

What I love about this recipe:

  • It serves 6!!ย  We have a family of 5.ย  I love finding recipes that serve 5 or 6 or even more at it is spot on for my family (sometimes allowing extra for growing young men or dinner guests) and I don’t have to multiply ingredients for the shopping list and remember to double or triple quantities when cooking the meal!
  • This Salmon and Vegetable Slice is a great way to get more fish into your diet (omega-3 = brain food!) if you’re not a big fish eater or if you are like us and have fish once a week and like to find other ways to incorporate fish/seafood into the diet on other days of the week!
  • It is full of lovely nutritional veggies!
  • It is easy to make!
  • It tastes delicious!

What You Need:

A quiche or pie dish
A bowl and electric mixer
(I used my gorgeous Empire Red KitchenAid KSM150 Artisan mixer and it’s bowl – you can see one similar here)

2 whole eggs
3 egg whites
1 cup 25% reduced-fat grated tasty cheese
1 x 415 can pink salmon (drained)
1 cup zucchini grated
1 cup carrot grated
1/2 cup frozen corn kernels
1 teaspoon crushed garlic (in jar)
1/3 cup self-raising flour
1 sachet spring vegetable cup-a-soup
pinch pepper
cooking spray
7 cherry tomatoes
12 large capsicum strips

What To Do:

  • Preheat oven 180 degrees celsius fan forced.
  • In a large bowl, combine eggs and whites using an electric beater.
  • Leaving 1/2 cup of grated cheese aside, combine all other ingredients with the eggs EXCEPT cherry tomatoes and capsicum.
  • Coat a pie or quiche dish with cooking spray then pour mixture into dish, flatten top.
  • Cut 6 cherry tomatoes in half then place around the edge of pie (you may end up using more or less cherry tomatoes – depends on size of dish you use).ย  Put remaining tomato in the centre of the pie.
  • Place capsicum strips between each tomato pointing to centre of pie.
  • Sprinkle remaining cheese over top.
  • Bake 45-50 minutes or until cheese is golden brown and centre is cooked.
  • Leave to sit for a short while then cut into 6 slices either hot or cold.

Variations:

  • Replace Salmon with 1 x 415 can tuna in spring water (drained).ย  This version’s calorie count per serve is 247.
  • For a vegetarian version, omit salmon and replace with 1 cup small broccoli florets and 1 cup thinly sliced celery.ย  This version’s calorie count per serve is 188.

All versions are suitable to be frozen.

Enjoy!

MinPostSignature

Linking up with Blogs and PR’s Talk to Us Thursday

roundbuttonttut

AND

Linking up with With Some Grace‘s Flog Yo Blog Friday

fybf

16 replies »

  1. Looks yummy except for one thing – I hate seafood of any type!!! Which is bad as Omega 3 is so good for us … I take fish oil tablets instead.

    Like

    • Oh Janet – I love seafood!! I’m not a big fish eater though. Never order it if out at a restaurant. Always have it once/week at home though. I like it cooked my way and only fish with no bones. All other seafood I LOVE! Glad you are taking fish oil tablets to get your Omega-3!

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing – this looks delicious !!! Think I will try it with tuna as we are not very big salmon eaters in our house.
    Have the best day !
    Me

    Like

    • My pleasure! I’d be interested to hear how you like the tuna version. I haven’t tried it with tuna. Hope it turns out delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you have a great day too! xo

      Like

  3. I love that you have the calorie count there. I’m a bit clueless when it comes to this kind of stuff. I would have it with more veges and no fish – but looks like a lovely recipe.

    Thanks for linking up with #TUST

    Annaleis – Blogs and PR Team

    Like

    • Hi Annaleis – I always like to know the calorie count of what I cook and consume so I was pretty sure there are others that are the same. I hope you enjoy the vegetarian version. I’d like to try that version myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Yeah I’ll let you have that one. I’m not a fish eater. Which is terrible considering I’m married to an avid fisherman ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like