365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Day 122

365 Grateful - Day 122

One of these things is not like the others,

One of these things just doesn’t belong,

Can you tell which thing is not like the others

By the time I finish my song?

Recognise the song from Sesame Street?  I remember Sesame Street from when I was a child and from when my children were little.  I used to love playing that game.  It is great fun when applied to objects but not nice at all when applied to living things.

One of the seagulls above has only one leg (obviously the one with the white arrow pointing at him/her LOL).  All the other seagulls have two legs.  In society, quite often if someone is viewed upon as a little different, they are alienated, picked on or bullied.  Personally, I don’t believe there is anyone that is a little different.   Are we not all our own unique individual selves??  Wouldn’t the world be a boring place if we were all just clones of each other??

One of my children was bullied.  The impact on those that are bullied, and their families is heartbreaking.  As I said in my Dear Santa Christmas Wish List post  in December 2012, I would like to see bullying gone forever, a thing of the past.  There is much more I could say, but I will leave it there.

I was grateful to see that this one-legged seagull was surrounded in a sea of friends and was treated as an equal with not one hint of any bullying going on.

Today’s photograph was taken on the foreshore at Wynnum North (near the fish markets).

MinPostSignature

