365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Day 104

365 Grateful - Day 104

For the purposes of learning to love my physical self, today I took a few ‘selfies’ with my phone while I was out reading by the pool.  Obviously, I was not reading at the same time haha!  It just occurred to me as I lay there that perhaps I should take a few snaps of myself and look at them and learn to see the positive bits rather than always focussing on the negative bits.  Admittedly, there are some parts of my physical self that are easier to love than other parts.  I wrote a post in October called ‘I Heart My Body.  Well I’m getting there‘.  It was an initiative of We Heart Life.  That post required me to list three things I loved about my body.  One thing I listed was my lips.  My exact words were ‘My lips – they are nice full lips’.  So today, amongst the few photographs I took, I took one for the purposes of getting a shot of my lips.  I added a nature/flower type overlay to the photograph to make it look a bit more artsy and a little less vain!

I’m very grateful for my nice full lips!

MinPostSignature

10 replies »

  1. great idea – I struggle with this too but learning as I get older to be better at it – love your idea 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! I know I’m not the only women who struggles to love their physical self. If only I could love my tummy…I’m going to try and find a way! lol

      Like

      • why not think about all the things it does for you – carried your babies etc and love it for doing that so well 🙂

        Like

      • That’s what I’ve been trying to convince myself of Sonia! It’s true .. so why don’t women and men think of it that way? A wrecked tummy should be a badge of honour – the badge of motherhood – something to be proud of. Alas – we hide it and hate it! Hmmm … I’ll keep trying 😉

        Like

  2. I say go for it – in regards to loving your physical self. It’s something I need to work really hard on if I’m to instil that same thing in my children. So many of us feel self conscious and not proud of the way we look, and that is so me. But I have never liked the way I looked, sad but true – maybe 2013 I can start to change this.
    And yes great lips for shizzle!! Emily 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Emily – Unfortunately us women are so critical of ourselves. I’m afraid I haven’t been a very good example for my daughter with regards to my own self image. 2013 is the year I learn to love myself wholus bolus (physical self and personality self). Should be interesting 😉 Lips for shizzle LOL – love it & thank you 🙂

      Like

    • Hi Carley – thanks so much for commenting 🙂 It’s a wonderful thing you have created! I am sure that come next ‘I Heart My Body’ – I will have some more things to list that I love about my body. 2013 is going to be a progressive year for me 😉 xo

      Like