365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Day 83

365 Grateful - Day 83

Today MrMM and I attended a Christmas party at my mother-in-law’s nursing home.  It was morning tea and nibblies followed by a buffet lunch.  I thoroughly enjoyed myself.  They threw a great party!

There were talented singers singing carols, children singing and playing the violin, a lady playing the piano, Santa dancing around the tables and stopping to chat to everyone, cute little girls in Christmas dresses walking around the tables offering lollies, and a gorgeous resident dog that wandered around being adored by all.  So much effort had been put into this party.  Not just arranging the singers and the catering, but you could see the care and time taken to decorate the room and the tables and to organise the day.

I loved that family took the time to attend this Christmas party with their relative who resides in the home.  I loved seeing the smiles and joy on the elderly people’s faces at seeing all the children and babies present.  What struck me the most though, and brought a lump to my throat and a tear to my eye, was the genuine love, care, respect and devotion shown to the residents by the staff.

I am grateful, and my heart feels lighter, to have witnessed the love, care, respect and devotion by my mother-in-law’s nursing home staff for its elderly residents.

Today’s grateful photo was taken with my phone and has been mildly blurred  to protect the privacy of those in it.

MinPostSignature

