Ava

Puppy Roster

Puppy Roster

Ava is 11 weeks old today!  She arrived to us 1 day before she turned 9 weeks so she has been with us for 2 weeks and 1 day.  For 1 week and 6 days of that time, I have taken on total responsibility for the night duty.  One night MissM took her over night after I had a night with barely 3 hours sleep and turned rather demented.  See this post to read more about that night!

Last night Twin2 was on night duty.  The night before Twin1 was on night duty.  They both looked a little tired after their night duties – bahaha!  I slept until 7:30am this morning!  It was bliss – just marvelous and I feel so much better for it!  Tonight it is MissM’s turn. 🙂

We have decided to implement a puppy roster!!  Why oh why did I not think of this sooner.  I was at my old ways again.  Taking the load.  Not looking after myself.  I have been exhausted.  I was not getting enough sleep to function properly.  I had a little bit of a melt down on Sunday morning and thus the creation of the Puppy Roster.  The kids are all on holidays.  Time to share the load!  MrMM doesn’t escape either – he is rostered on night duty one night per week!

Puppy Ava is a Christmas gift for the whole family.  She is not just mine.  The responsibility is not all mine.  This is a wonderful opportunity to teach my kids what responsibility is all about.  I also need to look after myself in order to continue on my path to better health and a fabulous 2013 where I move forward confidently with Peace, Love and Happiness (refer to my Christmas Wish List post).

Ava sleeps in a crate.  She loves it in there.  The crate is portable. 🙂  The photo below shows the crate.  This was my 365 Grateful – Day 59 photo.

365 Grateful - Day 59

The roster pictured at the top of this post is not ours.  It is one I found via our friendly neighbourhood Mr Google – though it has been cropped and framed by moi.  At the moment, our roster is just for night duty.  However, down the track I may well also add Bathing and Grooming,  Poop Scooping, Feeding, Walking and perhaps even Training!

Do you shoulder the load more than you should?  Is there something that you do that could be shared?  Could you be looking after yourself better?

Signing off feeling fresh as a daisy after a proper night’s sleep followed by a lovely refreshing shower!  🙂

MinPostSignature

Teaming up with Jess of Essentially Jess for #IBOT

ibotbutton

17 replies »

    • Hi Josefa! Yep that poop scooping will be added to the list!! lol Story of my life…I always take on everything and exhaust myself…to the point it affecting my health. Gotta change my ways!! xo

      Like

  1. We share the load of our dogs here too. Our pugs also are crated overnight and go to bed at 9:30pm and sleep until about 6:30am. The puppies I will wake at 11pm to take out for a wee and then put them straight back in the crate. It’s definitely exhausting having puppies!

    Like

    • Hi there! Oh I love finding people who love animals like me. Pugs are gorgeous! I’ve been waking Ava around 10pm and taking her out for a wee but the latest she has slept has been till around 5:30am. Sometimes she still wakes around 4:30am – where she is taken out for a wee and returned to the crate. We have a no play, no food before 5am rule. One day soon I’d like to stretch that to 6am. She is 11 weeks old today. So glad you agree that it can be exhausting 😉 Definately worth it though – she is just so adorable!

      Like

  2. I guess my parents must have done all the work of looking after our family dogs as we grew up, because I got a bit of a shock when I actually owned one myself as an adult. She actually ended up back with mum and dad 🙂 She’s happier, I’m happier, and mum and dad love her.

    Like

    • Good that you are all happy! 🙂 Puppies and doggies are not for everyone! I have always been a dog lover. I’d just forgotten how tiring a puppy can be! Probably because I’m much older now than last time! We lost one of our cav’s in August 2011 and Chelsea will be 13 in March. I couldn’t imagine life without a dog, so now was the time to get a new puppy – especially with the kids on holidays so they can help! I am so glad for the puppy roster – don’t know why I didnt think of it much sooner! 😉

      Like

    • Hi Rachel – I’m a control freak too…not to mention a perfectionist! I have always done everything with regards to our dogs and it’s always been me that they follow around and are devoted to. This time though…I needed some help as I wasn’t coping with the sleep deprivation. I’m sure Ava will still be devoted to me as much as they others have been though 😉 xo

      Like

  3. Good on you for sharing the load & teaching the kids responsibility. We’ve just started a chores list for our 6 year old (laying table, making bed etc). Can’t wait til he’s old enough to ad wash dishes, mow lawn to it!

    Like

    • Thank you! Don’t know why I didnt think of it sooner. Good for you for starting your 6 year old on chores. It’s so important to start them young. He’ll be old enough to wash dishes and even mow before you know it 😉

      Like

  4. Yes, good point! Why do we forget about delegating the work??? I love the idea of taking turns on the night shift. It helps everyone understand responsibility and accountability.

    Like

    • I don’t know why we tend to forget to delegate some work Grace?! Good to remember though that we don’t always have to do everything! My kids are certainly old enough to learn about responsibility and accountability! 😉

      Like

  5. This is a very clever idea to use for a new puppy.
    My kids have the responsibilities of feeding their animals. I do enough!

    Like