Inspirational Quotes

Appreciate what you have now

Appreciate what you have

This morning I received a phone call from my brother-in-law.  My husband’s cousin ‘Judy’ passed away yesterday at the age of only 53.  She had breast cancer….but we had thought she’d beaten it.  She and her husband went away for a break with their caravan.  She became unwell.  They returned home.  She went into hospital and she died soon after.  I last saw her nearly a year ago at a morning tea we had here to celebrate my mother-in-law’s 87th birthday.  She looked well.  We are in shock … another beautiful soul called home too early.

Earlier this year, another of my husband’s cousin’s passed away.  She was even younger … my age … late 40’s.

There is no bigger wake up call than what you have read above.  It happens all the time … all over the world … people dying way too young.   I don’t want to seem alarmist but life is to be lived and enjoyed and appreciated NOW…….not later when everything is better, or you have more money, or when the mortgage is paid off, or when the kids are older etc etc….but NOW!   Too often we let life pass us by, taking it for granted.  I have been guilty of this.  I was so caught up in just surviving the busyness of my life that I never had time to appreciate what I had to be grateful for in my life – hence my blog and my 365 Grateful project!

Take some time out to take stock of all that you have to be grateful for … learn to be mindful and appreciative of these things each day … absorb them and cherish them.

MinPostSignature

6 replies »

    • Thank you Ness. It’s not always easy to appreciate and be grateful for what you have each day (particularly during hard times) but with a little focus it starts to get easier. xo

      Like

  1. I’ve heard of a lot of young people losing their lives or being diagnosed with severe illnesses lately. One of the reasons I left work and made changes was because two of my colleagues were diagnosed with cancer and it reminded me of how short life can be.

    Like

    • That is so true Deb. I have seen far too many people die from cancer way too young. Life can be short and so I’m thinking along the same lines as you. We need to do what makes us happy in life 🙂

      Like

  2. Well said, Min. We do get so caught up in the day to day stuff and let the little things get us down. When you stop and think of all that you have it is very humbling.

    Like