365 Grateful Project

365 Grateful – Day 46

I’m grateful for this old china cabinet that has been passed on to us from my mother-in-law.

I’ve posted a picture of this china cabinet on Instagram before but have not used it for a grateful photo and it is definately worthy of a being grateful photo so I took another photo to use today.

Over the years I have admired my mother-in-laws china cabinets (she had three!).  At the age of 87 (88 in December) it became apparent that it was no longer safe for her to live alone in her home.  This year she moved into a nursing home and her marital home has been sold.  She took some belongings with her, but much of her furniture and other belongings were dispersed amongst her five children.  This china cabinet is the piece of furniture which came to us.  It’s no secret that I love a little bit of vintage!  I love this china cabinet.  Old pieces of furniture exude warmth and mystery that you just can’t get from newly bought furniture these days.  I love that this china cabinet will have a story to tell.  I’m not quite sure of its story yet – but I am going to ask my mother-in-law about its history next time I visit her.

