Recipes

Baking Day Fiasco

There has been baking going on in the MM house today!  I’ve been making Peanut Chocolate Slice for the wake of a family funeral which is tomorrow (refer to my 365 Grateful – Day 1 post).

I don’t usually make slices, biscuits or cakes because they are too tempting to have around and I might eat them!   Difficult when you have a brand new gorgeous Empire Red KitchenAid KSM150 Artisan mixer!!  AND…on the day that I bake….I don’t need to use it 😦

I had another post ready for today but have decided to save that one for Friday and share my baking day fiasco and recipe with you instead.  There won’t be a post from me tomorrow except for my 365 Grateful photo.

Here is the recipe. I doubled it to make two slices.  For those of us watching our waistlines, it is a very naughty recipe but one little piece would not be the end of the world if you factor it into your daily calorie intake.

Peanut Chocolate Slice
90g butter
3/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
1 cup plain flour
1/4 cup self-raising flour
3/4 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup unsalted roasted peanuts chopped

Chocolate Topping – 125g dark chocolate, chopped / 90g unsalted butter

Grease 20cm x 30cm lamington pan.  Combine butter, sugar, honey and peanut butter in pan, stir over heat until combined.  Remove from heat, stir in sifted flours, oats and nuts.

Press mixture into prepared pan.  Bake in moderate oven for about 20 minutes or until well browned, cool in pan.

It was at this point I decided to turn my baking day into today’s post for the blog.  I’ve never made this slice before so as the slice base sits cooling, I was happily typing away with my spur of the moment blog post oblivious to a baking fiasco yet to be uncovered!  I thought I was on track and doing well … until I typed the recipe above and realised with shock and horror……….I forgot the PLAIN flour!!  It will still be ok won’t it?  It will still taste delicious?  No-one will be able to tell – will they?  The photo above is what the cooked base looked like.  Oh dear – does look a bit toasty and crunchy doesn’t it!  Well – my perfectionism took over of course – and the photo to the right shows where those bases are now!  A lovely snack addition for the kids – sort of a peanuty toffee crunch kind of thing – delicious!  And so back to scratch I went!

This is what the base is supposed to look like!!

Ok, while the slice base is sitting there cooling, I will continue on with the recipe.

Spread cold slice with chocolate topping, refrigerate until set.

Chocolate Topping:  Combine chocolate and butter in pan, stir over low heat until melted and smooth.

There are only two ingredients in the chocolate topping.  I’m sure I can’t stuff that up!!  Here we go – you can see CHOCOLATE and BUTTER in this pan – nothing missing!

And voila – the final product – ready for refrigerating and setting.

All that is left to do is to cut it up into cute little squares when it is set.  Let’s  hope it cuts up easily and if it tasted nice that would be fantastic!  Thank you for visiting the MinsMash kitchen!

Postscript:  Refer to my 365 Grateful – Day 10 post to see the slice when set and cut.

Categories: Recipes

Tagged as: , , ,

3 replies »

  1. Looks delicious! I love chocolate and peanut butter together. Funnily enough I am having the same sort of problem – I also just got a lovely red Kitchenaid but all the things people have asked me to bake don’t actually require a mixer 😦 I guess that means I just have to bake more 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! I love chocolate and peanut butter/peanuts together too which is why I chose to make this particular slice. You have excellent taste in mixers! lol I will have to do more baking too – that gorgeous mixer is not getting enough use! Such a shame it wasn’t required for today’s recipe!

      Like