Parenting

MissM’s Tidy Room

MissM, my 17 year old daughter, is in Year 12 and as of Monday this week is on school holidays.  She left early on Monday morning for a 4 day/3 night camping trip with friends at Stradbroke Island.  In order to gain my full approval for going on this trip, part of the deal was that she would clean and tidy her bedroom before leaving.  She agreed, and as I sat here at the computer all pre-occupied with finessing my new fledgling blog, out of the corner of my eye I could see her bustling about and my heart swelled with joy and pride, assured that the task was well in hand.  Therefore, I didn’t check it before she left, believing that I would find a sparkling clean and tidy room following her departure.  I didn’t go into her room until yesterday morning to check her dirty clothes hamper for washing to add to a load.  Here are some photo’s of her room after being cleaned and tidied.  She did a fantastic job don’t you think! 

[if you click on the photo’s you can see a larger version]

Picture No. 1

Look at how considerate she is.  She put her bin up on the desk for my collection for emptying.  She hung her jumper on the back of her chair.   She left the power board with the laptop and god know what else plugged in a bloody dangerous jumble place where I would have easy access to sort it out and make it safer for her return.  I can see carpet!  There are no huge piles of clothes on her bed, so it will be much easier for me to make it now.  *sigh* what an angel.  Oh the mattress under her bed – well that’s there to be dragged out for sleepovers of course!

Picture No. 2

She has considerately hung some bags on the corner of her bed and freed up some floor space.  Look – I can see carpet!!  Her rug is spread out not properly rather than screwed up in a ball in a corner somewhere.  Her ridiculous amount of books are neatly stacked on the hideous table she uses as a bedside table rather than strewn about the floor.  She even found a new hanging spot for a handbag – see – on the wall – how annoying clever!

Picture No. 3

Look, the little angel has stacked in actual piles on the flippin floor some of her school books.  Look at how she has hung her bloody zillions of scarves on the hooks on the back of her door.  Who ever knew so much shit could fit on top of her drawers.  Isn’t she so lucky to have a noticeboard.  What’s the point since ALL her walls are used as a noticeboard!!  Oh and she so considerately put all her washing and other stuff that she couldn’t be bothered putting away into the dirty clothes hamper for me……and look – I can see carpet! 🙂

Ahhhh…she’s outdone herself.  I’m sure she will do the job again and just as well before her next planned trip to the Caloundra Music Festival….won’t she 🙂

The end.

4 replies »

    • Gritted teeth Vicki…whatever do you mean? I am so blessed and joyous…I can see carpet! So glad that you have the same joy with your teenagers/young adults 😉

      Like

  1. Had a good laugh at this Min. So glad I’m not the only one with a daughter who does not know the meaning of “clean and tidy”.

    Denise

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like