General Mish Mash

To Tweet or not to Tweet

Twitter……I just don’t get it.

I like to think that I’m pretty tech savvy for a person of my generation.  So, out of curiosity, I set up a Twitter account at some point early last year but for the life of me I couldn’t think of anything of interest to tweet (that is when I worked out how to tweet)!  Then when I finally worked out something probably boring as all get out interesting to say – it was too long.  I then realised there is a limit of 140 characters and struggled then to convey the same message in a shortened way.

Then there was the matter of interpreting other people’s tweets.  There are retweets and hashtags and all kinds of goings on that I’m yet to comprehend.  And…who do you follow and how do you direct your tweets to them and many other things I still don’t understand.  So, I lost interest and that account has not been looked at or used for over a year.  I think my tweet attempts could be counted on one  hand!

Now that I have my new blog, I’m thinking I need to reassess Twitter and get my social media groove on, as most blogs I read have a twitter feed incorporated and bloggers use tweets to announce new blog posts.

Are you a tweeter?  I would love to hear from you.  Can you tell me the benefits of incorporating Twitter and tweeting into my blog and shed some light on how to tweet efficiently and effectively?  I’m sure with a little guidance and copious amounts of notetaking and further research a lightbulb will go on and I will be on my merry twitter tweeting way!

