Wynnum Manly District

Keiths on Cambridge

As mentioned in an earlier post, I recently purchased an OurDeal offer – $49 for a three course Waterfront Meal for 2 including Shared Entrée, Mains, Dessert and Wine at Keiths on Cambridge, Manly (value $118).  Mr MM and I went last night and I promised a review of our experience.

Though we went on a ‘deal’, the prices are very reasonable.  You can see the prices for the meals here.

The decor at Keiths on Cambridge is casual but elegant.  The back of the restaurant (where we sat) is like a closed in veranda with windows providing views out over the marina and allowing lovely breezes off the ocean to waft in.  At night of course, rather than a view of the marina, it is more a view of the twinkling lights out over the marina, so no lovely photo’s of the view, but the link to their website above will show you!

Back of the restaurant which has views over the marina

The waitress who greeted us and attended to us during the evening was very friendly and professional which always makes a night out so much more enjoyable.  Nights out like this are very rare for Mr MM and myself, so it was a lovely treat!

The deal actually consisted of a choice of bread to share, a main meal each, a dessert each and a wine each.  Mr MM is not a wine drinker…so lucky me…I got two wines!  He ordered himself a beer and we choose to pay the extra for an entrée each, in addition to the bread.

Now, I had warned Mr MM that I had intentions of taking photographs for my new blog, but I think he wasn’t quite prepared for the ‘wait…dont touch it yet…I’ve got to get a photo!!’ before every course!  And…I wasn’t prepared for how difficult it was to discreetly snap photographs with my Samsung Galaxy phone in a restaurant full of people 😉 !   My photographs therefore, are not beautifully styled like I see in many other blogs as I didn’t want to make a big scene by standing up and beautifully arranging everything and therefore drawing attention to myself.  So please forgive my feeble attempts and I hope that in time I will become better at discreet stylised and beautiful blog photo’s!

The bread we chose was Toasted Turkish bread and trio of dips.  The dips were an olive tapenade, a pesto, and I can’t quite remember the third but i think it was a yoghurt based dip.  All were divine!

Toasted Turkish bread and trio of dips

For entrée Mr MM chose Pan seared scallops w’ cauliflower puree, prosciutto shards and I chose Salmon gravlax w’ Melba toasts & lemon peppered mascarpone.  I had a little of his and he had a little of mine and both were absolutely delicious!

My entrée – Salmon gravlax w’ Melba toasts & lemon peppered mascarpone

Mr MM’s entrée – Pan seared scallops w’ cauliflower puree, prosciutto shards. (Gf)
*photo does not do it justice!!*

For main meals, I chose Confit duck w’ roast veg & caramelized fig jus (gf).  Oh I love duck and this was beautiful.  I highly recommend!  Mr MM chose Braised lamb shanks w’ cauliflower mash, ratatouille (gf) and he thoroughly enjoyed his meal also.

My main meal – Confit duck w’ roast veg & caramelized fig jus (gf)

Mr MM’s main meal – Braised lamb shanks w’ cauliflower mash, ratatouille (gf)

Desserts were not listed on the menu as you choose those from the dessert counter.  I am unsure of their correct names but Mr MM chose a chocolate mud cake muffin with ice-cream and raspberry coulis and I chose a rhubarb and apple crumble with a side of ice-cream and strawberries.  Now I know for those of us watching our waistlines this is a bit naughty but if you knew how rarely Mr MM and I have an evening out like this, I think we can be forgiven for a little indulgence. 😉   They were both extremely tasty and very much enjoyed.

Mr MM’s dessert – Chocolate Mud Cake Muffin with ice-cream and raspberry coulis

My dessert – Rhubarb and Apple Crumble with ice-cream and strawberries

So overall, I can thoroughly recommend Keiths on Cambridge as a very enjoyable night out with beautiful food at a very reasonable cost.  They are also open for breakfast and lunch.

